Southeast Regional Trauma Advisory Council (SERTAC)

What is a Regional Trauma Advisory Council (RTAC)?

A Regional Trauma Advisory Council is an organized group of healthcare entities and other concerned individuals who have an interest in organizing and improving trauma care within a specified region. It serves as the unifying foundation to bring together all local, county, regional, state, federal and other agencies, for the planning, education, training and prevention efforts needed to assure the exemplary care needed pre, acute and post injury. The primary purpose of an RTAC is to design, implement and evaluate a trauma system within a region that is data-based, confidential and sensitive to the needs and limitations of each regional area.

Spinal Immobilization Guideline 

STAC & EMS Board have jointly determined that Level I & Level II Trauma Centers are clinically equivalent when determining state triage guideline. April 8, 2015

SERTAC Bylaws            

SERTAC Hospital Removal of a Patient from a Backboard and Possibly Cervical Collar Removal Sample Guideline 

Wisconsin Helicopter Emergency Medical Services (HEMS) Utilization Guidelines

SERTAC Trauma Reports Presentation

SERTAC Trauma Reports Presentation 2013-2014

SERTAC Trauma Reports PPT 2012-2014

Tier Response Plan

Mission Statement

The Southeast Regional Trauma Advisory Council shall constantly promote optimal trauma care across local, regional, and state boundaries through healthcare professionals who strive to provide quality patient care. We shall provide healthcare professional education, confidential performance improvement analysis and injury prevention to maintain and improve our regional trauma care plan

Executive Council 
Position Descriptions

Education Chair
EMS Urban Representative
EMS Rural Representative
Injury Prevention Representative
Medical Oversight Chair
Performance Improvement Chair
Trauma Coordinator Chair

Southeast Regional Trauma Advisory Council
Executive Council Members


Lisa Heinz
Aurora Medical Center-Summit

SERTAC Vice Chair

Timothy Lenz, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin

SERTAC Past Chair

M. Riccardo Colella, DO, MPH, FACEP
Medical College of Wisconsin


Betsy Rambo
St. Agnes Hospital

Education Co-Chair's

Kristin Braun MS, RN
Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

Lisa Hass-Peter,

Medical Oversight Chair

David Piccolo,
United Hospital System-Kenosha       

Perf. Improvement Chair: 
Karen Keys,
Froedtert Hospital

Trauma Coord. Chair

Denise Hagen


EMS-Rural Rep.

Jon Masi
Paratech Ambulance

EMS-Urban Rep.

Lt. Dylan Laue

Dousman Fire Department

Injury Prevention Rep.
Trish Flannery, RN, BSN, CEN, EMT-P
United Hospital System

SERTAC Coordinator              
Jake Dettmering,
Wisconsin Department of Health Services



Website Builder